Stuffed Zucchini Boats

If you had told me ten years ago that I would one day love cooking (and actually be somewhat good at it) I probably would never have believed you.

But as I got more and more into healthy eating over the last several years, I’ve come to really enjoy finding and preparing new recipes!

After many, many months of contest prep and restrictive eating, I’m finally able to relax a bit and enjoy some variety in my diet. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still sticking mostly to my same meal plan and I still LOVE my boring old sweet potato, chicken breast and green beans, but something different a couple times a week will be a refreshing change.

Hubby and I only eat dinner together on Friday and Saturday nights, and during contest prep we each prepared our own meals as our diets and macros were completely different. (Me cutting while he’s bulking is just plain unfair!)

Now that we can eat more of the same things we’ve decided to choose a new recipe to try out each week on Friday nights.

20130525-064044.jpg

Our first choice was this recipe from Oxygen magazine. Zucchini is one of my favorite veggies and they are very in season right now!

I made some small adjustments to the recipe, this makes three servings so I had to adjust it down to two.

I also left out the olives since neither Hubby or myself care for them. I didn’t add parmesan cheese because I don’t think that much cheese is necessary and I prefer to do without the fat and calories.

20130525-064320.jpg

The recipe implies after scooping out the insides of the zucchini you just toss it, but I chopped it up and added it to the beef mixture. I see no reason to waste good zucchini!

They may not be the prettiest, but these turned out well and were delicious! I added a little more feta to Hubby’s boats since he can afford the calories and loves feta.

I honestly don’t think I’ve been quite that full since Christmas! It felt good to eat, but I’m still fighting a mental battle between knowing I need to eat more and worrying about gaining weight.

My next goal is to add more lean muscle, and you can’t grow if you don’t eat. But, I’m loving my competition body and part of me really wants to stay this size.

Even though I need to eat more I still plan to keep it clean, add calories and carbs slowly, and avoid cheats as much as possible.

20130525-065036.jpg

Coming off a long competition prep can be very tricky, as your mind is fighting a battle between wanting to splurge since you’ve restricted for so long, and still feeling guilty for eating anything you “shouldn’t.”

After a long rest week I’m back in the gym today so hopefully some intense training will help me feel better about eating more.

20130525-065122.jpg

Leave a Reply

