Tofu Chia Breakfast Bowl

Breakfast is one of my favorite meals. No joke, I look forward to going to bed so I can wake up and eat! It must be a side-effect of being on contest prep for so long.

For the longest time I had egg whites and oats for breakfast, which is a great choice if you workout in the morning, either before or after eating. I still have this on the weekends since those days I exercise early, but during the week I moved my oats to late morning for my pre-workout meal.

So I had to come up with something to have for breakfast. I knew I wanted lower carbs, (just enough to get my body moving for the day ahead, but not too much since most of the first half of my day is spent sitting and not expending much energy) some protein, and a little healthy fat.

20130522-164218.jpg

What I came up with is sort of a mix between pudding and oatmeal. I call it a Tofu Chia Breakfast Bowl.

Ingredients:
3 ounces silken tofu (not the firm stuff-very important)
1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tbsp chia seeds
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
Cinnamon to taste

20130522-164427.jpg

First combine the tofu, cocoa powder and almond milk in a bowl. I use a whisk to break up the tofu and mix everything together into a pudding like substance. It will be a little chunky, if you want it smooth you could throw it in a blender. Be sure you use silken tofu or it won’t be soft enough to mix.

20130522-164607.jpg

Then, add the chia seeds and mix in completely. Once it is all good and combined, put a cover on it and let it sit in the fridge overnight. The seeds will soften once they soak in the almond milk.

20130522-164711.jpg

In the morning, I nuke it for about a minute but you could eat it cold as well. I like to top mine with a tablespoon of almond butter and a third cup of blueberries.

20130522-164819.jpg

This whole thing is roughly 280 calories, 20 grams of carbs, 16 grams of fat, 11 grams of protein, and about 5 grams of sugar (from the blueberries.)

Definitely a new twist on tofu, and breakfast!

Leave a Reply

