Competition Pancakes

One fun thing about eating clean is you get to find new ways to use foods, and healthier recipes for things you love but probably shouldn’t be eating.

Although I’ve stuck to a pretty basic diet for the last five months, I have been starting to miss variation and craving something new here and there.

This weekend I made two new recipes using healthy ingredients that are yummy alternatives to non-diet friendly foods.

20130506-154614.jpg

These zucchini chips were super easy. I made them just like I do kale chips. Be sure to slice the zucchini very thin so they get crispy. Spray lightly with olive oil cooking spray (be sure to spray tray as well) and I seasoned with Mrs. Dash. Cook at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes or until they are mostly crispy. We had a little hummus on the side. Delish!

20130506-154759.jpg

Sunday is a low carb day for me since it is technically a rest day. But when it was time to eat my last meal before bed I put my macros in and I was way low on calories and protein for the day. So I whipped up this little pancake!

I added a scoop of chocolate whey (I used Optimum Nutrition 100% Natural) to 4 egg whites, a dash of almond milk and stevia and cooked in a pan. For the frosting on top I mixed one tablespoon PB2 with one tablespoon Dymatize Iso-100 whey (vanilla), a little stevia and enough almond milk to make it creamy (it doesn’t take much.) I topped the whole thing with a sprinkle of cinnamon.

This was so yummy and filling. Using protein powder will make the frosting a little sticky, but that’s a small price to pay to save on sugar and calories. In all this had about 250 calories, four grams of fat, ten grams of carbs, and 45 grams of protein.

A perfect Pre-comp meal that fit my macros and won’t sabotage my goals!

Leave a Reply

