Round Two

It has now been almost three weeks since my first fitness competition.

I am two weeks out from my second competition.

Some things have stayed the same, some things have changed.

As with anything, I’ve learned from my experiences prepping for the first show and made some changes that I think will improve my performance and physique for my second time around.

IMG_0780

Currently my weight has not changed pretty much since the week after the show. That’s good. I’m trying to drop a little more body fat, but I don’t want to loose too much more weight since I now know I will drop 2-3 pounds peak week alone.

I have added a little more muscle definition to my abs and legs.

I’m really excited about the progress in my legs. They are the stragglers, the last body part to come along and they weren’t where they should have been for the first show. I’m hoping the judges will be impressed at how much progress I’ve made in just a few weeks.

IMG_0774

At three weeks out once again I added morning fasted cardio back into my routine. In the past it has really worked for dropping body fat.

The one difference this time around is I did not drop my calories and carbs as low as last time. For the first show, I had more leaning out to do and I wasn’t sure if I would come down in time. Because of this I cut my calories and carbs pretty low.

This time, I’m more comfortable with my leaning out, and I don’t want to drop too much and start losing muscle mass along with weight.

Lately too I feel my body asking for carbs, especially post-workout, and I’m choosing to listen and not deprive myself. Don’t get me wrong- my macros are still lower than they would be if I was not in contest prep, they just aren’t as drastically low as they were in the final weeks before my first show.

IMG_0744I’ve maintained my confidence and positive attitude for the most part as well. This time there are fewer unknowns, so I feel less uncertainty about what to expect and how my body will respond to the final stages of prep.

One thing I know for sure is my body and posing are better than they were last time, and that’s all I can hope for.

Keep working to be better, and believing in myself.

Leave a Reply

