Peak Week

My first fitness competition is one week from today!

I’m so excited I can hardly stand it.

I’ve been working towards this goal for so long that at some points it didn’t even seem real. Now, it’s almost here.

20130406-065026.jpg

For the most part, I’m still feeling pretty good about my body. I’m concerned about my legs and I feel if I don’t do well, that will be why. I’ve worked a lot this week on my quads and just practicing flexing my legs and posing with them. I’ve seen a little improvement but the clock is starting to run down.

I’m certainly not giving up, and will keep working on these legs as much as possible over the next week.

As far as upper body, the work is done, now it’s just about maintaining size and symmetry and not losing any muscle by doing too much or too intense cardio.

20130406-065511.jpg

Starting today I need to get 2.5 gallons of water down a day. Over the next few days, there will be other changes to my diet. Let’s just say there is a lot of asparagus in my future. 🙂

20130406-065702.jpg

Many people have asked what comes next once the competition is over. I am trying not to think too far ahead right now and stay focused on the present, but it’s a valid question.

Depending on how my first show goes, I may compete again in May. If I do well next Saturday, that will likely be my next move.

If I don’t do well, I will probably use the feedback from the judges to take some time over the Summer to work on my physique and posing and compete again in the fall.

Either way, I definitely plan to take the week after the show off from heavy workouts and relax my diet a bit. I don’t intend to go crazy, but at least bump up my calories and allow for some treats if I want them.

My biggest concern moving forward is this: all my hard work over the last months and weeks has shaped the body I’ve always wanted but didn’t think I would ever have. Now that I do, I want to keep it!

The struggle will be finding a balance that will allow me to maintain this kick ass physique without forcing me to adhere to a strict “contest prep” diet on a regular basis.

But today- I’m putting all of that in the back of my mind. All I see in front of me is the next seven days.

Here we go!

Leave a Reply

