Contest Prep On the Road

Today marks the start of a busy and intense four weeks. Appropriately enough, it began with a busy and jam-packed day!

It is also the first time since the holidays that I have taken my competition prep on the road. I’m happy to report things went much better this time around.

20130316-223753.jpg

I hit the gym early to get my workout in before teaching my group ex class. Immediately after class I had to run home, shower and jump in the car to make the 2 1/2 hour trip back home for my niece and nephews’ birthday party. Rather than skip my normal Saturday workout I just got moving earlier and got it done.

I’ve been focusing on abs and cardio on Saturdays, and put together an awesome HIIT workout that combines the two.

Tuck jump to burpee- 10
Ab obliques with med ball- 25
Mountain climber on BOSU- 1:00
Stability ball pass- 20
Jump rope- 1:00

Rest 1:00
Repeat 4 times (5 total circuits)

This was quick (about 35 minutes) but intense. Visualizing my ideal physique on stage helped me push even harder. I just keep telling myself- if you want this bad enough, now is the time to do the work to make it happen.

20130316-224625.jpg

Before we hit the road, I made sure to pack all three meals I would need for the day. It can be a little awkward showing up to a party with your own food. Ive done it for a while now and at first my family gave me a hard time. Now I think they understand why I’m doing it, and if they don’t, they at least don’t say anything anymore.

I tried a new food this weekend too- spaghetti squash!

20130316-224851.jpg

I love this stuff. One cup has about 40 calories and 10 grams of carbs. That’s half that of a 3.5 ounce sweet potato. A cup is a TON too. I just baked it for about an hour then scraped out the insides of the squash. The texture is almost like noodles. I had to laugh though when my mom asked if it was cheese!

The party was fun and I had a great time visiting with my family. In the past I had trouble saying no to a glass of wine or a piece of birthday cake. Today I am proud to say I wasn’t even tempted. My determination is so strong, and I am not going to sabotage all my hard work.

20130316-225407.jpg

My family had a lot of questions about the competition, and they are all making the trip down to cheer me on. I’m so happy my family is supportive and proud of what I’ve accomplished.

It did make me realize however there are a lot of misconceptions about bodybuilding and a lot of things people don’t understand about competing. (The biggest thing people ask me about is the tan! I had no idea people didn’t know you need to be dark to make your muscle definition show on stage under the lights. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard “you’re not going to get that awful tan are you?” LOL).

It can be frustrating trying to explain the sport of bodybuilding to someone who isn’t familiar with it or doesn’t understand what it’s all about, but I try to answer their questions as much as possible and not get frustrated. There were so many things I didn’t know just a few short weeks ago.

Today is ending on a high note and I’m feeling pumped and ready for fasted cardio tomorrow then posing class. I took last week off so I’m hoping to see some noticeable changes to my physique. If there is one thing I need to hit harder it is definitely practicing my posing.

From here on out things will be pretty tough. The next four weeks are make or break. It’s go time. I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

