A Day of Competition Diet

Think bodybuilding diets are all about chicken, asparagus and egg whites?

Well, there is some of that but there are also a bunch of other yummy eats! Today I’m going to share what my meal plan looks like on a typical day.

You may already know that fitness competitors have to cut down on calories, carbs, sugar, sodium, and certain foods to get the necessary low level of body fat for the stage. What you may not know is that doesn’t have to mean eating a bland, boring and flavorless diet.

I actually love the foods I eat! I CRAVE them!

My competition diet is only a slight variation on my Pre-contest diet. I’ve added and subtracted a few things to get my macros where they need to be, but for the most part I have not had to make many drastic changes to my meal plan.

20130315-192210.jpg

Meal One: Chia Seed Protein Pudding
2 tbsp chia seeds, a half scoop Dymatize Iso 100 Vanilla Whey Protein Powder, stevia, cinnamon, 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1/3 cup fresh blueberries

Meal Two: 3 oz lean organic chicken breast grilled seasoned with Mrs Dash, 1/2 zucchini sautéed and seasoned with Mrs Dash, 2 cups baby spinach

Meal Three: 3 oz lean organic chicken breast grilled, 1 cup steamed green beans, 3.5 oz sweet potato

Meal Four: Cocoa Overnight Oats
1/2 cup old fashioned oats, 1/2 scoop chocolate whey protein powder, 1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder, cinnamon, 1 tbsp PB2, 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk

(Not pictured: 2 scoops Optimum Nutrition Amino Energy before training, one scoop Dymatize Iso 100 and organic brown rice cake after training)

Meal Five: 4 oz tilapia baked and seasoned with Mrs Dash, 1/2 cup each steamed broccoli and cauliflower, 8 stalks of asparagus baked, 2 tbsp low fat/low cal hommos

Meal Six(at bedtime): 1/2 cup no fat cottage cheese, 1tbsp PB2, 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder, cinnamon, stevia blended in food processor until smooth and topped with 1 tbsp almond butter

Yes I’m still eating cottage cheese and almond butter. It fits my macros and I’m seeing results so I am not worried. I will probably cut both at two weeks out however.

This meal plan is about 1300 calories. It is 40/40/20 carbs/protein/fat. I eat every 2 1/2 to 3 hours. I also drink more than a gallon of water a day and drink green tea three times a day after meals.

I take supplements I have not included here because I think supplements are a personal choice that should be made after carefully considering your own goals and priorities.

As the show gets closer I will make tweaks to this plan as needed, including eliminating extras like PB2, almond butter and almond milk, and hommos.

I should point out, I’m not working with anyone on my meal or training plans. I’m listening to my body and choosing healthy foods that I enjoy and manipulating macros as needed. This is not a recommended meal plan or a formula for Pre-contest (or any other) diet.

This meal plan is keeping me fueled, fed and energized, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t looking forward to indulging in a few sweet treats post-comp 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Day of Competition Diet

Leave a Reply

