The Countdown is On!

The countdown is officially on! Just 30 days until my first figure competition, the Buckeye Classic.

To mark this very exciting milestone, I’m taking time today to reflect on why I made the decision to compete in the first place.

Fitness competitions are not for the faint of heart. The diet and exercise requirements to get stage ready are rigorous and take extreme dedication, consistency and commitment. Competitions are also costly. Besides entry fees, there’s the suit, shoes, tan, hair, makeup, posing classes, and more if you choose to pay for diet or training advice.

All that aside, you have to stand up in front of a panel of judges and dozens of other people in the tiniest bathing suit you’ve ever seen, and smile while they all critique your body and appearance to the smallest detail.

What kind of crazy person volunteers for that??

20130314-160636.jpg

That’s right- this girl! And while it may seem all about ego, there are actually a number of reasons I decided to take the plunge.

To push my fitness to the next level. Working out and eating healthy are my permanent lifestyle, not a temporary thing. But, I was stuck in a place of stagnation. I reached a certain level of fitness and just stopped progressing. I knew I wasn’t happy with my physique, but I needed an incentive to give myself that extra PUSH to make the sacrifices need to sculpt the body I want.

To challenge myself. I wouldn’t say I’m a perfectionist, but I am a hard worker in all areas of my life and I like to be the best I can be. I wanted to prove to myself I could do this. Accomplishing something difficult that takes discipline and effort gives me pride.

I want to work in the fitness industry full time. Within the last year I came to realize my passion for health and exercise was more than just a hobby. I’m so inspired and uplifted by the chance to help others reach their goals and improve their lives. When I made the decision to pursue a career in fitness, I knew a fitness competition would not only help me gain credibility in the industry, but also provide me a chance to meet people, network and hopefully get my name out there.

Because I believe I can. At some point, I finally shook off all the negative thoughts and voices in the back of my head saying “you’re not one of those people, you don’t have the time/money/energy/dedication/body…” That’s b.s. I’m as capable as anyone else. If you want it bad enough and you put in the work, you can achieve anything you dream of. The only real obstacles are the ones we create ourselves.

20130314-162725.jpg

I truly believe if you want something you have to go out there and get it. Take control and make it happen.

THIRTY DAYS!!

Leave a Reply

