Diet Tweak and a Recipe

With less than five weeks now to go before I step on stage for my first figure competition, I’m in surprisingly good spirits.

I seem to have caught my second wind this week and I’m feeling super motivated and positive. Workouts have been on point. My energy levels are good too, despite not getting as much sleep as I would have liked last night.

(Two of my supplements look IDENTICAL and when I put them in my pill tray you can’t tell them apart. Anyway I think I reversed them which means I took my fat burner much later than I should have and was not AT ALL tired last night. I finally took a melatonin so I could fall asleep!)

I made a minor tweak to my diet this week that not only moved the majority of my simple carbs to directly before/after my workout but also brought my overall carb and calorie intake down slightly.

I’m not cutting carbs drastically yet, and I’ve always maintained an open mind in this prep, meaning if my body responds well and I get the results I want, I won’t cut carbs drastically at all except probably peak week.

What I did do is move my morning bowl of overnight oats to my Pre-workout meal. It has about 30 grams of carbs and as much as I love starting my morning with yummy oats and feeling full to start the day, those carbs just aren’t put to their best use first thing in the morning since I go straight to work and sit at a desk for hours.

20130312-160030.jpg

Now I can use all those lovely carbs to fuel my workout, and I have a yummy meal to look forward to towards the end of my work day.

Since I moved the oatmeal in the meal plan I had to come up with something to have for breakfast. The goal was high in protein but low in carbs. I removed egg whites from my diet a couple months ago because they tend to bother my stomach. A protein shake would be another possibility but I didn’t think it would be satisfying enough to get me going to start my work day.

20130312-160408.jpg

The solution: chia protein pudding! I can’t get over how yummy this is and it makes a great replacement for a filling bowl of oatmeal. Plus, chia seeds are a superfood! They are high in antioxidants and omega 3s, also known as healthy fats.

The seeds soak up the milk and the texture actually comes out like tapioca pudding!

Recipe:
3 tbsp chia seeds
1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
3/4 cup almond milk
Cinnamon to taste
Stevia to taste
1/3 cup blueberries on top

Mix all ingredients except blueberries and refrigerate overnight. Top with berries and eat cold or microwave for :30-1:00.

Enjoy! And remember- eat clean, train hard, feel great!

Leave a Reply

