Clean Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

Holiday gatherings are hard for me. Typically food served at family parties doesn’t fit within my eating plan, and I have to try to navigate the menu without starving or appearing rude or difficult.

I tried bringing my own food once, that did not go over well.

Rather than insult the host by showing up with a sack lunch, a better idea is to prepare a dish to share that fits with your eating plan. That way you know there will be something you can eat and others will enjoy it as well.

This year for my Thanksgiving gatherings I am bringing Clean Pumpkin Oatmeal cookies. These are low in calories and fat. I am not a vegan but they are vegan friendly as well.

20121122-061525.jpg

I made two batches. The first (on the right in the above pic) I didn’t measure out the oil because all our liquid measuring cups were dirty. I just eyeballed it, and they came out small and a little dry.

Once they cooled, though, they had a little crunch and hubby and I actually liked them better than the second batch in which I properly measured the oil.

These were so good, I did multiple taste-tests!

20121122-061844.jpg

Recipe:

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup old fashioned oats
3/4 cup organic cane sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
dash of nutmeg
1/2 tbsp ground flax seed
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/4 cup canola oil
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup canned pumpkin puree

Mix dry ingredients then wet. Spoon onto greased cookies sheet or pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Let cool. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

