Meals: A Balanced Plan

This post is part of a weekly series about nutrition and meal planning.  I am not a registered dietitian or nutritionist.  This is simply what works for me and is not a recommended meal plan. 

Today’s post details my “moderate” carb day plan, and it is pretty close to how I would eat when I’m not carb cycling. This plan aims for about 1400 calories, 150-160g of carbs, 130-140g of protein, and about 35-40g of fat.

Breakfast:

4 egg whites
1/2 cup spinach
Old Fashioned Oats (1/2 cup oatmeal, 3/4 unsweetened almond milk, 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder, 2 tbsp PB2, cinnamon)
Black coffee

Meal Two:

One scoop Shakelology
One cup unsweetened almond milk

Meal Three:

3 ounces lean chicken breast
One cup green beans
3.5 ounces sweet potato

A clean meal: lean chicken breast, sweet potato, broccoli and cauliflower

Pre-Workout:

One organic brown rice cake
One low-fat Swiss laughing cow cheese wedge

Post-Workout:

One scoop vanilla whey protein powder with water
1/2 banana

Meal Four:

5 ounces tilapia
One cup broccoli/cauliflower

Before Bed:

1/2 cup no-fat cottage cheese
2 tbsp PB2

Powdered Peanut Butter

(PB2 is pretty much the best thing that ever happened to me, hands down. I promise a post soon on its incredible awesomeness.)

This is pretty close to my everyday meal plan when I’m not carb cycling. It is in the right calorie range for me, and keeps me full and energized.

You’ll notice as the day goes on I taper my carbs, meaning after my pre-workout rice cake and besides the carbs in the whey, I don’t eat any whole grain carbs or starches.  Since I am much less active later in the day, I no longer need the carbs for energy.

You need carbs for fuel, but any that are not used for energy get stored in the body. If day after day you are eating tons of carbs and not burning off the energy, your body will send them to long-term storage where they become adipose tissue, also known as FAT!

So remember, carbs are not the enemy but you need to control them otherwise they will control your results.

Leave a Reply

