Meals: A Low-Carb Day Plan

This post is part of a weekly series about nutrition and meal planning.  I am not a registered dietitian or nutritionist.  This is simply what works for me and is not a recommended meal plan. 

In a previous post I detailed my experience with carb-cycling.  In order to incorporate a high, moderate, and low carb day, I had to customize a meal plan for each set of macros.  Today I will share my low-carb plan.  You’ll remember the goal with this plan is to eat about 1300 calories, 65g of carbs, 58g of fat and 130g of protein.

Breakfast:

Old Fashioned Oats (1/2 oats, 3/4 unsweetened almond milk, cinnamon, 2 tbsp PB 2)
4 egg whites
Black coffee

Meal Two:

One scoop Shakeology
One cup unsweetened almond milk

Meal Three:

6 ounces lean chicken breast
One cup Brussels sprouts

Pre-Workout:

12 almonds
3 ounces lean chicken breast (not on rest day)

Post-Workout:

One scoop vanilla whey protein powder with water (not on rest day)

Meal Four:

5 ounces lean ground turkey
1/2 cup broccoli

Before Bed:

One tablespoon all-natural peanut butter

These meals are spaced about 3-4 hours apart. I always eat breakfast within a half hour of waking.  The body has been fasting all night while you’re sleeping and you want to give it fuel as quickly as possible or it will start to break down lean mass for energy.

I was actually surprised I wasn’t more hungry on these days, but the larger protein portions help keep me fuller. Remember, this isn’t a plan I follow daily. For me personally, the calories are too low for an everyday eating plan. I follow this plan three days a week, on less intense workout (or rest) days, and the other four days I eat more carbs and higher calories.

One thought on “Meals: A Low-Carb Day Plan

  1. Pingback: Calculating Body Fat | Meals. Muscles. Motivation.

Leave a Reply

